Types of Passports in India

Types of Passports in India

In India, the Ministry of outside undertakings gives the Indian visa to the residents of India for worldwide voyaging or visits. Residents who have this visa can travel abroad and it gives the residents evidence of Indian citizenship under the identification act 1967. The Passport Seva (Passport administration), unit of the consular, identification and visa (CPV) has a position to issue and are moreover accountable for providing travel documents to all eligible Indian inhabitants. These autonomous divisions fall under the service of outside undertakings. There are 93 visa offices spread across India.


Also, Read- passport seva kendra online portal

About Indian Passport

Something else about the Indian visa :


Giving Authority: Ministry of External Affairs.


First issue in Indian: first rendition – 1920, current variant – 2021.


The motivation behind a visa: to perceive their citizenship.


Qualification for a visa: to be an Indian resident.


Expiry of identification: 10 years for Adults, 5yr or 10 yr for the age between 15 yr to 18 yr, and 5 yr for the minor.


Here in movement jargon we generally utilize the terms ‘visa’ and ‘identification’. Also, many feel a little unsure about the essential distinctions between identification and visa so there are a few distinctions between them both.

 We should figure out the fundamental distinctions between both the archives Visa and Passport.

What is an Indian Passport?

It is a report that the service of outer undertakings under the focal legislature of India is given to an Indian resident. It is a recognizable proof archive and it contains the name of the resident, their date of birth, a spot of birth, orientation and the location of the individual. The principal motivation behind these reports is to recognize the visa holder where the individual in question should be and the total subtleties of the individual are referenced here. For Indians, at regular intervals, the naval force blue customary visa should be restored.

What is a VISA?

It is true consent, which one nation needs to concede a visa holder of one more country before their visit to the previous country.

It isn’t long-lasting however an impermanent approval to the identification holder to go to a country.

Then again, it is generally stepped on a visa, yet it very well might be a different report as well.


Here in the above passages, we found out about the essential distinctions between Indian identification and the Visa. We have a few valuable realities about the principal or key contrasts between the two and have the fundamental information about the visa and the identification.


Here we will talk about the sorts of identifications in India for Indian residents. A significant change has been finished by the Indian identification to send off another sort of visa which is the Orange identification.

So in India, there are primarily four kinds of identifications which are given by the Ministry of outside issues under the public authority of India. It is the sole power to give identification in India.

Sorts of Passport in India

Blue Passport

White Passport

Maroon Passport

Orange Passport


The Blue Passport: A blue shaded visa is given for the everyday person of India. The capability or component of this blue-shaded visa is to recognize the everyday person and Indian government authorities holding high positions by the custom, movement authorities and different specialists abroad.


The White Passport : This is the most impressive identification among different kinds of travel papers in India. Since just the public authority authorities are qualified to hold this Indian identification. The people who are traveling to another country for true intentions are given to that authority. The White identification makes it simple and basic for the migrant authorities, customs, and the other authority specialists to distinguish the individual who is the public authority and give due treatment to him.


The Maroon Passport: For senior government authorities and Indian ambassadors, it is given to them. It is a top-notch identification where a different application must be filled in. The individual who gets this visa becomes qualified for a few advantages during his unfamiliar visits. Alongside these advantages, identification holders needn’t bother with a Visa for traveling to another country. Furthermore, another unique advantage for the Maroon Passport holder is that they have an office to clear the settler’s customs which is a lot quicker than ordinary individuals.


The Orange Passport: Recently, The public authority of India declared the presentation of another kind of visa named the Orange Passport. This Passport is for most individuals. The primary capability of this identification is to distinguish an individual that hasn’t concentrated past the class tenth

Dissimilar to the next ordinary visas, here in this orange identification, there is no notice on the last page of the identification about the identification holder’s dad’s name, super durable location of the identification holder, and afterward other basic data about the orange visa holder. Individuals who are not great instructively qualified, fall under the ECR classification (Immigration Check Required). This means who falls under the ECR classification, so this implies that each time that individual should clear the measures set somewhere around the movement authorities.


Suggested Read- Apply for fresh passport

End :

So in a stepwise way, we found out about the identification in India and kinds of visa alongside who is qualified for this visa in India and its elements.

And furthermore had some awareness of the fundamental distinctions between the visa and the Indian identification. We are very certain that subsequent to perusing this blog all of you have adequate information concerning this given point.